Author Topic: Faulty indicator stalk, cruise control question  (Read 143 times)

Offline Jaks101

  • Taking part
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 31
Faulty indicator stalk, cruise control question
« on: January 11, 2017, 05:18:17 PM »
I've come to the conclusion that my stock indicator is damaged as my dash cluster does not show the indicator warning lights, nor the high beam warning light but everything else works fine and work intermittently when I push the hazard light (recently replaced) so I conclude it's not the bulbs in the instrument cluster.

I was just going to swap the indicator stalk with a standard one but noticed that cruise control seems easy to fit and I also have vcds.

The only thing I wanted to know whether a 55 plate golf Gti with midline dash already has the correct module and the extra wire I think you need from looking at the how to guides.

If I have to start messing putting an extra wire and control module in then I think I will leave it as I would rarely use cruise control.


Anyone with knowledge to help

Offline Tfsi_Mike

  • Global Moderator
  • Just look at my post count
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 239
  • -Receive: 309
  • Posts: 10063
  • Go Large or Go Home
    • Tfsi Mikes Money Pit AKS / TTE / RTech St2+ Cupra
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=he8n0gi989320q8ra55c9ud101&/topic,32721.msg402587.html#msg402587
Re: Faulty indicator stalk, cruise control question
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2017, 05:53:52 PM »
Early revision stalks are known to pack in after time.

You could find out which revision you have with a quick scan

Offline Jaks101

  • Taking part
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 31
Re: Faulty indicator stalk, cruise control question
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2017, 06:34:17 PM »
Revision stalk or the control module needed for cruise control

Offline Tfsi_Mike

  • Global Moderator
  • Just look at my post count
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 239
  • -Receive: 309
  • Posts: 10063
  • Go Large or Go Home
    • Tfsi Mikes Money Pit AKS / TTE / RTech St2+ Cupra
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=he8n0gi989320q8ra55c9ud101&/topic,32721.msg402587.html#msg402587
Re: Faulty indicator stalk, cruise control question
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2017, 07:01:59 PM »

Stalk revision, sorry, yeah.

Offline Octoparrot

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 110
    • Email
Re: Faulty indicator stalk, cruise control question
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2017, 07:24:38 PM »
AFAIK the need for the wire is needed on pre 06 models. If you buy the genuine kit retrofit kit from VW it comes with the extra wire needed, not sure about the module.

Offline Tfsi_Mike

  • Global Moderator
  • Just look at my post count
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 239
  • -Receive: 309
  • Posts: 10063
  • Go Large or Go Home
    • Tfsi Mikes Money Pit AKS / TTE / RTech St2+ Cupra
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=he8n0gi989320q8ra55c9ud101&/topic,32721.msg402587.html#msg402587
Re: Faulty indicator stalk, cruise control question
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2017, 08:53:45 PM »
Sorry I've just re-read the post, properly lol.  I thought you already had cruise

Offline RetroRaz

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 34
  • -Receive: 174
  • Posts: 2445
    • Email
Re: Faulty indicator stalk, cruise control question
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2017, 01:54:46 AM »
If your car has a roof aeriel from factory then you will have the later style wiring and the wire will be fitted.  All GTI's have midline control module at minimum so you should be ok on that

Sent from my SM-G928F using Tapatalk


Offline Jaks101

  • Taking part
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 31
Re: Faulty indicator stalk, cruise control question
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2017, 08:47:19 PM »

Offline Jaks101

  • Taking part
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 31
Re: Faulty indicator stalk, cruise control question
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2017, 08:48:01 PM »
Well my car definitely has an external aerial, did the first ones not have them on the roof?

Offline RetroRaz

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 34
  • -Receive: 174
  • Posts: 2445
    • Email
Re: Faulty indicator stalk, cruise control question
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2017, 06:09:08 AM »
Well my car definitely has an external aerial, did the first ones not have them on the roof?
Some of the first ones didn't. Probably a flaw they found in the way it was wired and they fixed it on the newer wiring by adding the aerial on the roof

Sent from my SM-G928F using Tapatalk