Make a donation

Author Topic: Project save the Grey  (Read 10672 times)

Offline OirishGTI

• Taking part
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 4
    • Email
Project save the Grey
« on: March 18, 2017, 09:52:37 am »
Hi Everyone,newbie here from Ireland, been a long time lurker and  GTI nut. I have been stricken with the GTI'itis for some time now! i've had Mk2:

a Mk5

and a Mk7

now i am back with a Grey MK5:

My New Grey GTI is in a bit of a sorry state, rear brakes seized, had very little oil in it when i took delivery of it, the wings are beginning to bubble with rust. I wouldn't normally buy a car in such a poor condition but i always wanted those upgrade Recaro's :love:, car also has Factory Xenons, cruise, folding heated mirrors with puddle lights and the usual GTI bits
Plans so far;
1. Engine flush
2. Proper service,gear box oil, CV boots, cam follower, pcv valve, termostat, coilpack
3. Get the brakes working properly again (it actually passed the MOT with seized brakes! I'm in Ireland so i have to get it through the Irish Car test which seems to be more stringent?)
4. Wet vac seats and see about getting the driver side bolster redone (anyone know somone who would be able to do the job in Ireland or UK?)
5. Recondition the alloys (Sprayed black on inner)
6. New tyres
7. Remap
8. New head unit
9. Carbon fibre Mirror caps
10. Maybe colour co-ordinate the bumpers and add edition 30 lip - unsure whether to keep with standard paintwise, i co-ordinated my graphite GTI and liked it
11. Red GTI Badges and maybe black or carbon fibre VW badges (think Carbon fibre goes well on the Grey GTI's)

Other than all this just give it the much needed TLC it needs! thanks for reading :happy2:

« Last Edit: October 24, 2017, 01:31:44 pm by OirishGTI »

Offline shoaybmakda

• Just look at my post count
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 54
Re: Project save the Grey
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2017, 11:05:53 am »
Absolutely love the seats!