Author Topic: P000A code  (Read 2405 times)

Offline Graham1990

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 70
    • Email
Re: P000A code
« Reply #15 on: February 07, 2018, 02:27:49 PM »
No I haven’t got vagcom, I used to work in a garage a long time ago and ever since then I’ve stayed good mates with the manager so I can go down and work on my car whenever I need to which is handy. He has all snap on equipment so the diagnostic thing I’ve been using is a snap on one. I will see if I can do the checks you have said about on Saturday when I go there. I’m replacing an in line thermostat as the car takes ages to warm up and also i have cam sensor, n205 camshaft adjuster valve so if either of them need replacing I can try them if not I will take them back to vw 👍 hopefully it’s a nice easy cheap fix but that never seems to be the case on my cars lol

Offline Dan_FR

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 143
  • -Receive: 172
  • Posts: 1673
  • wait...what?
    • Email
Re: P000A code
« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2018, 02:57:50 PM »
Most of the better Snap-on kits will show you live data values, otherwise find someone local that has VCDS

There are many different causes of this code, from the N205, to the little carbon oil seals for it, even down to a lack of oil pressure or a worn/damaged camshaft adjuster.
TFSI... Revo Stage 2+... . WMI.... VCDS HEX + CAN, MPPS, VAG Commander & VAG tacho - South Wales

Offline Pudding

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 382
  • Posts: 4247
Re: P000A code
« Reply #17 on: February 07, 2018, 03:55:45 PM »
If it's the Verus Pro, you'll be fine with that.  VW/Audi has brand specific data PIDs, so the Verus might translate them differently to VCDS.

That's what makes VCDS the best platform for these cars.  It uses the same translation as the factory ODIS system.
Black Edition 30 with manually selected cogs, a beefier clutch, some extra boost and them Whiteline thingies, otherwise standard.

Offline Graham1990

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 70
    • Email
Re: P000A code
« Reply #18 on: February 07, 2018, 06:27:25 PM »
Most of the better Snap-on kits will show you live data values, otherwise find someone local that has VCDS

There are many different causes of this code, from the N205, to the little carbon oil seals for it, even down to a lack of oil pressure or a worn/damaged camshaft adjuster.

Yeah it’s a bugger, I thought it was lack of oil pressure that bought the code up. I had ”stop engine oil pressure low” come up on the dash so I changed the pick up pipe but obviously that wasn’t the problem 😞just got to keep replacing parts now until it’s sorted. 👎

Offline MaxC

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 50
Re: P000A code
« Reply #19 on: February 12, 2018, 07:15:49 PM »
I got a p000a code after chain and tensioner replacement, couldn't figure it out for ages after replacing many parts, turned out I was missing half of a cam adjuster sealing ring... Might be worth changing these , they're about £30 I think?

Offline Graham1990

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 70
    • Email
Re: P000A code
« Reply #20 on: February 13, 2018, 07:15:24 AM »
@MaxC do you have a part number for the sealing rings?

Offline MaxC

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 50
Re: P000A code
« Reply #21 on: February 13, 2018, 10:28:09 AM »
@MaxC do you have a part number for the sealing rings?

These the the ones..06F198107A

Offline Graham1990

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 70
    • Email
Re: P000A code
« Reply #22 on: February 16, 2018, 06:53:30 AM »
Cheers @MaxC. I’ve got a camshaft adjustment valve N205. I’ll be fitting that later when I finish work. I’ll go for a long drive and see if the code comes back (hopefully it doesn’t) if it does I’ll be ordering some of the sealing rings. 👍

Offline Graham1990

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 70
    • Email
Re: P000A code
« Reply #23 on: February 19, 2018, 05:28:36 PM »
Just thought I would update the thread. It seems the n205 has fixed the issue. I have done 50 miles and haven’t got a code back yet, but once it didn’t come back for over 100 miles 😱 I will scan the ecu again after 100 miles and report back. The old n205 I took off had oil coming out the top of it into the electrical plug on the top so I think it probably was the issue. Thanks for all the help 👌

Offline Shoy1980

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 20
  • Posts: 385
Re: P000A code
« Reply #24 on: February 19, 2018, 05:54:59 PM »
That's a great result, happy for you mate.

Offline Graham1990

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 70
    • Email
Re: P000A code
« Reply #25 on: February 25, 2018, 08:04:56 PM »
@Shoy1980 I spoke to soon, went and plugged the car in again to double check the code had gone for sure and it’s back 😐. It took over 100 miles again to come back. I did however unplug the maf while the engine was running the day before to see if that was working correctly as I have an intermittent rough idle at the moment and I’m trying to figure that out. I doubt that would have brought a p000a code up though would it ? I’m wondering where abouts on the engine the sealing rings are that you mentioned? I would like to check mine. If you could let me know I would appreciate it 👍👍

Offline Graham1990

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 70
    • Email
Re: P000A code
« Reply #26 on: February 25, 2018, 08:08:05 PM »
Sorry @Shoy1980 it was actually @MaxC  that mentioned the sealing rings. Could you let me know where they are located on the engine please? I would like to check mine. Cheers 😆

Offline MaxC

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 50
Re: P000A code
« Reply #27 on: February 26, 2018, 09:28:46 AM »
They're on the cam chain housing on a protuding piston that goes into the vvt

Offline Graham1990

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 70
    • Email
Re: P000A code
« Reply #28 on: February 26, 2018, 03:37:53 PM »
They're on the cam chain housing on a protuding piston that goes into the vvt

Thank you mate 👌

Offline Pudding

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 382
  • Posts: 4247
Re: P000A code
« Reply #29 on: February 26, 2018, 04:44:07 PM »
Yep, they go onto the shaft with the 2 holes pictured here.   New ones are flexible and go on OK, but old ones are brittle as hell and always break.

Black Edition 30 with manually selected cogs, a beefier clutch, some extra boost and them Whiteline thingies, otherwise standard.