Author Topic: Oil Temp sensor  (Read 629 times)

Offline unzippy

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 13
  • Posts: 152
Oil Temp sensor
« on: September 04, 2018, 04:46:13 AM »
Hello.

Are there symptoms of it failing?

Using the secret menu in the aircon controls it now reads 0.0 for the oil temp.
But no dash warnings.
Double checked with the Torque Pro app - no reading.

Does the ECU need oil temp or does it run from coolant temp?

Are they a known weak spot or is more likley to be a loose wire?

Offline unzippy

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 13
  • Posts: 152
Re: Oil Temp sensor
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2018, 05:09:16 AM »
Bump?

Offline mjmallia

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 72
Re: Oil Temp sensor
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2018, 11:42:04 AM »
It should give a reading for a GTI and is the sensor at the bottom of the sump......which also gives the oil level too.

Check the cluster settings with VCDS also, if someone has used an American cluster for full highline conversion it may be turned off as not having the sensor.

Offline unzippy

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 13
  • Posts: 152
Re: Oil Temp sensor
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2018, 01:44:31 AM »
It should give a reading for a GTI and is the sensor at the bottom of the sump......which also gives the oil level too.

Check the cluster settings with VCDS also, if someone has used an American cluster for full highline conversion it may be turned off as not having the sensor.

THe car in question is an Ed30.
There is no reading - via the secret menu or via the Torque Pro app.
Cluster is as it came out of the factory - untouched and half height.

If the sensor has failed why am I not getting any warnings?

Offline mjmallia

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 72
Re: Oil Temp sensor
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2018, 04:22:27 PM »
Needs to be plugged into a proper tool like VCDS to check things out

Offline unzippy

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 13
  • Posts: 152
Re: Oil Temp sensor
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2018, 05:01:41 AM »
Plugged in and scanned - nothing.

Offline Dan_FR

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 144
  • -Receive: 177
  • Posts: 1728
  • wait...what?
    • Email
Re: Oil Temp sensor
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2018, 07:11:42 AM »
Sensor in the sump is an oil level sensor, pretty sure it doesn't give a temp reading?
TFSI... Revo Stage 2+... . WMI.... VCDS HEX + CAN, MPPS, VAG Commander & VAG tacho - South Wales


Offline f00glee

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 214
Re: Oil Temp sensor
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2018, 12:16:32 PM »
You cannot read oil temperature from the climatronic "secret menu". Some lists report that its possible but so far as I can see its a myth. From this menu, you can only read things that the climate control might care about or may help in diagnosing the HVAC system. Oil temperature, boost pressure etc don't fall into that category.

To check for sure, use VCDS and look at measuring block 134, field 1 - this is oil temperature. Was monitoring it myself just the other day.
MkV GTI, Tornado Red, 3-door, 06, R-tech Stage "1+"

Offline unzippy

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 13
  • Posts: 152
Re: Oil Temp sensor
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2018, 07:13:23 AM »
Definitely not option 15 then?

What about the TorquePro app?  should I get an oil temp reading out of that?

Offline f00glee

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 214
Re: Oil Temp sensor
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2018, 02:31:18 PM »
Yep - oil temp not available in secret menu. Don't know what option 15 is. But definitely doesn't match oil temp seen in VCDS.

Not sure about torque pro app. Though I've become aware of this app recently I've never used it.
MkV GTI, Tornado Red, 3-door, 06, R-tech Stage "1+"

Offline unzippy

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 13
  • Posts: 152
Re: Oil Temp sensor
« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2018, 01:09:01 AM »
Ok, cheers chief!