Author Topic: Standard Ed30 head unit.......  (Read 698 times)

Offline JamesP

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 22
  • So this is what VW is all about.....
    • Email
Re: Standard Ed30 head unit.......
« Reply #15 on: November 29, 2018, 03:49:06 PM »
Thanks mate, will look into it :)

Offline Pudding

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 412
  • Posts: 4642
Re: Standard Ed30 head unit.......
« Reply #16 on: November 29, 2018, 05:53:18 PM »
RCD310 can take an aux-in as well as a BT module. Only 50 quid from ebay and looks a lot better than the ancient standard RCD300.

I actually got rid of an RNS510 in favour of an RCD310.  Phones do satnav, and phones boot up instantly, unlike the RNS.  They are overrated, overhyped and overpriced stereos imo, and scumbags nick them.  You need stupid MDI & BT modules to do anything with a phone....and the modules date very quickly because of the crazy pace of phone development and BT versions.

RCD310, MK6 chrome switches, aux in socket, 3.5mm to 3.5mm lead. Done.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2018, 05:54:49 PM by Pudding »
Black Edition 30 with manually selected cogs, a beefier clutch, some extra boost and them Whiteline thingies, otherwise standard.

Offline JamesP

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 22
  • So this is what VW is all about.....
    • Email
Re: Standard Ed30 head unit.......
« Reply #17 on: November 29, 2018, 06:03:39 PM »
Ok this sounds like the best option.
So literally old head unit out, 310 in and aux cable from the rear of the unit to my phone?
Not even bothered about Bluetooth..... 

Offline Pudding

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 412
  • Posts: 4642
Re: Standard Ed30 head unit.......
« Reply #18 on: November 29, 2018, 06:11:28 PM »
Yep, it’s exactly what I do.  Search ebay for ‘aux-in MK5 golf’ and for a few quid you can get a kit which includes the loom for the radio, and a socket to replace a blank next to the TC button  :happy2:
Black Edition 30 with manually selected cogs, a beefier clutch, some extra boost and them Whiteline thingies, otherwise standard.

Offline JamesP

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 22
  • So this is what VW is all about.....
    • Email
Re: Standard Ed30 head unit.......
« Reply #19 on: November 29, 2018, 06:48:12 PM »
Oh even better, so just plug the cable in where the blank was, not even into back of the head unit?

Offline Pudding

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 412
  • Posts: 4642
Re: Standard Ed30 head unit.......
« Reply #20 on: November 29, 2018, 08:14:12 PM »
You need to connect the loom to the back of the radio.  When you want tunes from your phone, simply flip up the ‘aux’ cover and plug 3.5mm stereo lead in. Then select aux on the radio, job done!

Black Edition 30 with manually selected cogs, a beefier clutch, some extra boost and them Whiteline thingies, otherwise standard.

Offline JamesP

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 22
  • So this is what VW is all about.....
    • Email
Re: Standard Ed30 head unit.......
« Reply #21 on: November 29, 2018, 08:15:11 PM »
Right, bought the head unit and cable.......
soooo easiest way to get the cable from the head unit to the blank socket?

Offline JamesP

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 22
  • So this is what VW is all about.....
    • Email
Re: Standard Ed30 head unit.......
« Reply #22 on: November 29, 2018, 08:16:25 PM »
Select aux via the “media” button?
Sorry if I sound a simpleton!

Offline Pudding

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 412
  • Posts: 4642
Re: Standard Ed30 head unit.......
« Reply #23 on: November 30, 2018, 03:18:28 PM »
Yep, via the Media button chap  :happy2:  It remembers it as well, so you don't have to keep switching from source to source every time you start the car  :smiley:

When you take the old radio out, also remove the gear stick panel with the switches and blanks, you will then see the best way to route the harness  :happy2:

Oh and be very very gentle when prying the stereo trim/HVAC panel off the dash, the clips break off super easy.  If you do break the panel, it's not expensive to replace.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2018, 03:20:37 PM by Pudding »
Black Edition 30 with manually selected cogs, a beefier clutch, some extra boost and them Whiteline thingies, otherwise standard.