Author Topic: MK6 Climate Control  (Read 13271 times)

Offline Betty02

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 685
    • iBett
MK6 Climate Control
« on: November 11, 2011, 12:29:33 PM »
HOPEFULLY going down this route this month, all it seams I need is the Mk6 unit, a wire switch and a new surround could someone confirm this?

Secondly which unit should I be looking at?  have dual climate now in my MK5 but all the ones I see only have 1 heater knob so guessing this isn't right, then the ones I see with 2 have buttons for heated seats which I don't have. Is it hard to come across the exact part I need? Any pictures of the unit I should be looking at? Part Numbers etc?

Thanks
Simon
ADMIN NOTICE: Please do not use the site for advertising!

Offline Betty02

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 685
    • iBett
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2011, 12:35:10 PM »
Ok they do make them which is good (if this is the right one?)



Part number: 5K0 907 044BC

Now what's all this I read about compressors? I have a 2005 GTi?

Thanks!
ADMIN NOTICE: Please do not use the site for advertising!

Offline mortygttdi

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 43
  • -Receive: 144
  • Posts: 2370
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2011, 05:12:38 PM »
Betty its one of them things to do with the right panel to the right ECU,

It is all to do with the ECU, my 05 TDI was perfect and worked with all the panels but VW updated the ECU on a recall and messed the communications between the ECU and the climate panel, none of the panels would work then... :surprised: but a forum member came to my rescue and reset the ECU...every thing works now :happy2:

5K0 907 044BC works fine as long has the ECU is the right one :happy2:
 
Darren

Offline jedi-knight83

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 12
  • -Receive: 41
  • Posts: 1355
    • Cambridge Autogleam Detailing
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2011, 05:27:08 PM »
hmm... whats the benefit?? its uglier than the mk5 set up..
Golf GTI DSG "ED30 Tribute" - RTech: 254bhp / 323lbft | MK6 GTI DSG S.Wheel | MK6 GTI speedo | MK6 climate | RCD510DAB | Bluetooth | Milltek Cat back | H&R Springs & Rear ARB | WALK | 19" BBS CH | MK7R 340mm brakes - INFO


Offline mortygttdi

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 43
  • -Receive: 144
  • Posts: 2370
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2011, 08:13:42 PM »
Jedi the appearance is debatable, I find it more pleasing to the eye than the mk5 climate, it fits in with the RNS510 and looks cleaner...also rather than some nasty looking readouts it comes up on the RNS510 screen.

Darren :happy2:

Offline Betty02

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 685
    • iBett
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2011, 08:03:26 AM »
Betty its one of them things to do with the right panel to the right ECU,

It is all to do with the ECU, my 05 TDI was perfect and worked with all the panels but VW updated the ECU on a recall and messed the communications between the ECU and the climate panel, none of the panels would work then... :surprised: but a forum member came to my rescue and reset the ECU...every thing works now :happy2:

5K0 907 044BC works fine as long has the ECU is the right one :happy2:
 
Darren

Oh great! Really find it more pleasing on the eye then the MK5 one. How would I go about finding out if I have a compatible ECU? Been offered the same as above for a reasonable price so wouldn't mind getting it all sorted if I can do it!

Thanks for the help, fingers crossed there's an easy way to find out how to check my ECU and if it has been reset!

Thanks
Simon
ADMIN NOTICE: Please do not use the site for advertising!

Offline Tamiyoman

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 38
  • Posts: 1352
  • Prev car - Candy DSG ED30 No. 2235
    • Email
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2011, 09:37:39 AM »
Having been offered this option before and looking at it, i actually prefer the look of MK5 climate, I dont like the look of the panel and dont really want info on RNS, stick with what i have and spend my money on reverse camera instead  :grin:
MK7 Golf R, Pure White 3Dr DSG, Had since 10/06/14

Offline mortygttdi

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 43
  • -Receive: 144
  • Posts: 2370
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2011, 08:43:54 PM »
Betty unfortunately the only way to tell is by plugging the climate panel into your car, if it works when you press the a/c button the large fan will come on at the front of the car :happy2: if no fan, no worky

Darren

Offline Betty02

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 685
    • iBett
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2011, 09:05:16 PM »
Cheers for the help Darren, aunite asked me today what I want for xmas so will just ask for this so if it doesn't work I will just sell it (she refuses to gie me cash as I hit the pub xmas day :P)

If it works then winner!
ADMIN NOTICE: Please do not use the site for advertising!

Offline lingenfelter

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 68
    • Email
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2011, 11:04:13 AM »
Hi everybody.
I own a 2008 gti edition 30. I want to do the climate control reprofit.
Which part should i buy?
My golf has heated seats.
I find "5K0 907 044 N"
which is:


 "5K0 907 044-60"
which is:


and
5K0907044 BT
which is:

Which one is the right for me?
Thanks!

Offline Eddie-NL

  • Trader - 2014
  • Just look at my post count
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 302
  • Posts: 2635
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=u82m9ctahoututjnchn0ksqq37&/topic,56721.0.html
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2011, 11:11:02 AM »
Buy one which has heated seats dials on, the N version is a US part and the temperature next to the dial is in Fahrenheit but it will display on the RNS/RCD510 in Celius. The N version is a older panel so you won't have the Missing message fault which newer panels have.
Genuine VCDS VAG-COM HEX-USB + Genuine Vag Commander + Genuine VAG Tacho + Genuine VAG CAN PRO  + RNS Manager for Video in Motion and New Pin Code for RNS510


Cluster and Key coding

Location Great Yarmouth


Retrofits fitted by me see my members rides

Offline lingenfelter

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 68
    • Email
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #11 on: December 19, 2011, 11:16:14 AM »
Buy one which has heated seats dials on, the N version is a US part and the temperature next to the dial is in Fahrenheit but it will display on the RNS/RCD510 in Celius. The N version is a older panel so you won't have the Missing message fault which newer panels have.

So i'm going for the "N" version.
Does the cables fit correctly?
Thanks Eddie! :congrats:
« Last Edit: December 19, 2011, 11:25:37 AM by lingenfelter »

Offline GTiBlues

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 15
  • Posts: 347
  • Mr Blues
    • Bookface
    • Email
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=u82m9ctahoututjnchn0ksqq37&/topic,75444.0.html
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2016, 09:29:27 PM »
Ok they do make them which is good (if this is the right one?)



Part number: 5K0 907 044BC

Now what's all this I read about compressors? I have a 2005 GTi?

Thanks!

Sorry to bring up an old post. Where do you get this heater surround panel from?

Offline The Red Warrior

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 19
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 229
    • Email
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2016, 07:03:08 AM »
I've just done this mod last Saturday. I did a lot of searching to find a cheap surround but wasn't able to. Ended having to get from dealer. NZ$146 and it took two weeks to arrive ex Germany.

Offline GTiBlues

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 7
  • -Receive: 15
  • Posts: 347
  • Mr Blues
    • Bookface
    • Email
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=u82m9ctahoututjnchn0ksqq37&/topic,75444.0.html
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #14 on: June 09, 2016, 05:58:21 PM »
I got one ordered from my local TPS. There's a company from Google search but it only has a outlined pic. So played it safe and ordered it from a well known company at a cheaper price!