Author Topic: MK6 Climate Control  (Read 10518 times)

Offline The Red Warrior

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 18
  • Posts: 179
    • Email
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2016, 12:21:35 AM »
I got one ordered from my local TPS. There's a company from Google search but it only has a outlined pic. So played it safe and ordered it from a well known company at a cheaper price!

Ah, yes. I think I know the outlined pic you speak of. I didn't trust it either

Offline otremontiram

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 23
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #16 on: June 25, 2016, 12:39:06 PM »
i have done this mode, and it looks perfect, everything works ok, except the AC.
I changed pin 16 to pin 20,
press the ac and the third button until they start flashing,
but when i pres the ac and rear heating window nothing happens.
and the ac is still not working.
Any ideas?
this is my control unit,
the car is 06 GT diesel


Offline The Red Warrior

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 18
  • Posts: 179
    • Email
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #17 on: June 26, 2016, 06:21:49 AM »
i have done this mode, and it looks perfect, everything works ok, except the AC.
I changed pin 16 to pin 20,
press the ac and the third button until they start flashing,
but when i pres the ac and rear heating window nothing happens.
and the ac is still not working.
Any ideas?
this is my control unit

When I installed mine recently I noticed that the car has to be on (engine running) for the rear window demister to work.
Can't help you with the AC though.

Offline ZeePablo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 1
    • Email
  • My Ride: Vw Golf Mk5 2.0 Tdi 140
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #18 on: November 14, 2017, 01:19:40 AM »
Sorry to refresh post i have mk5 2.0tdi on a 54 running RNS510 id like mk6 climate control my car already has the mk5 digital climate control but mine has the econ option is this still a plug and play situation or not doable due to econ? I read somewhere something along these lines. Many thanks

Offline The Red Warrior

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 18
  • Posts: 179
    • Email
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #19 on: November 22, 2017, 08:17:02 AM »
Sorry to refresh post i have mk5 2.0tdi on a 54 running RNS510 id like mk6 climate control my car already has the mk5 digital climate control but mine has the econ option is this still a plug and play situation or not doable due to econ? I read somewhere something along these lines. Many thanks

It's still possible. Mine had the Econ button. The Econ button is just called something else on later models but the function is the same.

Offline Christiank

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 423
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=lpifgt639jfrcmlc5o9n7gi0t5&/topic,110924.0.html
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #20 on: December 01, 2017, 04:53:15 PM »
If you car is build before May 2007 you'll have to change more wires than is it's build after May 2007.

Models before 5,2007 has 2 flap motors for the fresh air intake where the later model only has one. So for this to function problerly you'll need to disconnect the right flap motor and then the second motor should take the place from the motor you've disconnected.

This however should not be the problem for the AC not working. Do you have VCDS? Since you'll need to change some values and do a first compressor run before the A/C will work again.
MK5 TDI 2.0 MY2005 - FULL OF RETROFITS:
MK6 dashboard - MK6 R MFSW - Cruise Control - Discover Media 2 - 2016 Passat Climatronic panel - 8 Sensor parking kit - TMPS - 3D cluster and much more.

Offline ady-uk

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 124
    • Email
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #21 on: December 04, 2017, 08:23:17 AM »
i have done this mode, and it looks perfect, everything works ok, except the AC.
I changed pin 16 to pin 20,
press the ac and the third button until they start flashing,
but when i pres the ac and rear heating window nothing happens.
and the ac is still not working.
Any ideas?
this is my control unit,
the car is 06 GT diesel



You'll need to get a newer ECU and get the data cloned from your old ECU into new ECU
Been there.... didn't believe it, but it's true!

more reading here.....
http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,93764.0.html
« Last Edit: December 04, 2017, 08:28:59 AM by ady-uk »
VW Golf 2.0 Gtd 140 4motion (2005)
Factory fitted: xenons, sunroof, heated leather seats, fold in mirrors with downlights,
Custom: Mk6 steering wheel, updated gateway, RNS510 remote boot pop, LED lighting.

Offline Christiank

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 4
  • -Receive: 24
  • Posts: 423
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=lpifgt639jfrcmlc5o9n7gi0t5&/topic,110924.0.html
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #22 on: December 06, 2017, 09:17:57 PM »
Why does he need a new ECU?

I've got a MY05 2.0tdi and it's works flawless with all the wires correctly swapped :)
MK5 TDI 2.0 MY2005 - FULL OF RETROFITS:
MK6 dashboard - MK6 R MFSW - Cruise Control - Discover Media 2 - 2016 Passat Climatronic panel - 8 Sensor parking kit - TMPS - 3D cluster and much more.

Offline ady-uk

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 124
    • Email
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #23 on: December 07, 2017, 08:07:12 AM »
ermm.... hard to explain.

It Just doesn't work, won't get cold air in summer.

05 TDI to about 07 had a glitch in the ECU and it just doesn't work.
I honestly didn't believe it, but lot of knowledgeable told me that is the issue.
I bought a newer revision 2.0 TDI BKD (4motion) ECU (think the newest same base spec was from a Tiguan)
Anyhow.....got a specialist to clone the data from my old ECU, into the new one, swap them over and it the Aircon worked.  Just like that!

Before the ECU change I just swapped back to the old control panel, in the few hot summer weeks we have.
soon as it cooled down, the new panel was fine.  blew cool air but not COLD

Last year, after the ECU swap, had COLD air all summer .... superb
« Last Edit: December 07, 2017, 08:12:39 AM by ady-uk »
VW Golf 2.0 Gtd 140 4motion (2005)
Factory fitted: xenons, sunroof, heated leather seats, fold in mirrors with downlights,
Custom: Mk6 steering wheel, updated gateway, RNS510 remote boot pop, LED lighting.

Offline shoaybmakda

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 52
  • Posts: 1073
    • My Car
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=lpifgt639jfrcmlc5o9n7gi0t5&/topic,96108.0.html
Re: MK6 Climate Control
« Reply #24 on: December 08, 2017, 12:24:59 AM »
been wanting to do this mod on my mk5 (2005) for a while but the more i read about it the more it puts me off with people having loads of issues getting it to work 100%..

mines not got heated seats with the Econ button - worried about issues people have had with misting and having aircon on all the time and a few other bits.. shame as i have mk6 clocks and wheel and the RNS - it would complete my set up!