Make a donation

Author Topic: Tom's MK5 GTI OEM+ Build - Forged engine and BBT Hybrid  (Read 28841 times)

Offline tommygti

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 22
  • -Receive: 9
    • Email
Tom's MK5 GTI OEM+ Build - Forged engine and BBT Hybrid
« on: September 20, 2013, 08:21:25 pm »
Hi all. Ive been a member on here for while now, mainly for advice and technical help which has always been answered so much appreciated to those who helped. Ive never posted any pics of my car so thought its about time I did. I want to start this thread to show people my ideas and keep track of the progress. I have tried to carry out most of the work myself with a little help along the way, as I want to learn the skills and mechanical knowledge for future projects. Im no mechanic but with a bit of research and help from you guys its possible. Anyway heres the spec:

05 plate gti
85,000miles
diamond black

- forge twintake
- forge dv kit
- 3" milltek non res cat-back
- 3" exhaust uk 200cell hi-flow sports cat and downpipe
- AP coilovers
- whiteline rear adjustable arb

- Genuine ed30 front bumper smoothed
- Genuine gti grill smoothed and wrapped matt black (+ lipstick to be sprayed custom colour and fitted next week)
- Tinted foglights
- Votex side skirts
- US Spec rear bumper with colour coded rear valance
- De badged rear

TO DO....

As the previous owner did not take very good care of the car and after a closer inspection at work found that the ps of the car has been repaired but not logged on the V5. Nothing major but they did a poor job so Im having to sort it.

Respray ed30 lip as it has been scuffed and rear bumper upper section
Repair dents in the DS rear arch
Repair dents and re-aline the ps side door

- Custom true CAI
- Custom dv relocate
- Custom Boost pipe (IC-TB)
- Custom catch can
- Revo stage 2 remap
- S3 front brake setup
- TTS engine cover
- clean+shave engine bay (relocate battery/fuse box/coolant tank)

Not much then