Make a donation

Author Topic: Retrofit of Discover Media/ Composition Media head units to a Mk5/ Mk6 Golf  (Read 114497 times)

Offline ady-uk

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 19
  • -Receive: 24
    • Email
Re: Retrofit of Discover Media/ Composition Media head units to a Mk5/ Mk6 Golf
« Reply #135 on: January 03, 2019, 01:26:06 pm »
My car :D

You need adapter wiring harness which is supplied with radio.
Depending on age of your car, it's not always straight forward, I had to upgrade other things too.

Hi guys
Last Saturday I  successfully retrofitted Discover Media unit into Ady's 2005 Golf MK5. Some of you probably see it already but there are the pics:

Unfortunately we didnt have time to play with it yet and just fitted it to see how it goes. All will be finished this Saturday so more pics to follow. All works fine on White or Colour clocks so far.

Regards

Newbie here so sorry if this doesn’t read right.

How did you manage to plug the harness into the media unit as noticed that the blink connectors are slightly different. I’ve been trying to find an adapter but not luck. Is there one that you used that you could link me too please?

Many thanks
VW Golf 2.0 Gtd 140 4motion (2005)
Factory fitted: xenons, sunroof, heated leather seats, fold in mirrors with downlights,
Custom: Mk6 steering wheel, updated gateway, RNS510 remote boot pop, LED lighting.

Offline shoaybmakda

• Just look at my post count
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 54
sorry to dig this thread up again - was wondering if this unit would fit in a MK6? or does it have the same issues as the mk5? mines a 2009 GTD

Offline ady-uk

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 19
  • -Receive: 24
    • Email
Should be fine in a mk6
Still need one with cp disabled and other bits enabled, before you buy.

Usual disclaimer, if it doesn't work, don't have a go at me!  :party:
VW Golf 2.0 Gtd 140 4motion (2005)