MK5 Golf GTI

All Things Mk5 => Modifications & Technical Area => Cosmetic/Interior Modifications => Topic started by: Betty02 on November 11, 2011, 12:29:33 PM

Title: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: Betty02 on November 11, 2011, 12:29:33 PM
HOPEFULLY going down this route this month, all it seams I need is the Mk6 unit, a wire switch and a new surround could someone confirm this?

Secondly which unit should I be looking at?  have dual climate now in my MK5 but all the ones I see only have 1 heater knob so guessing this isn't right, then the ones I see with 2 have buttons for heated seats which I don't have. Is it hard to come across the exact part I need? Any pictures of the unit I should be looking at? Part Numbers etc?

Thanks
Simon
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: Betty02 on November 11, 2011, 12:35:10 PM
Ok they do make them which is good (if this is the right one?)

(http://daz.co/media/l483/Eddie-GT/ED8.jpg)

Part number: 5K0 907 044BC

Now what's all this I read about compressors? I have a 2005 GTi?

Thanks!
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: mortygttdi on November 13, 2011, 05:12:38 PM
Betty its one of them things to do with the right panel to the right ECU,

It is all to do with the ECU, my 05 TDI was perfect and worked with all the panels but VW updated the ECU on a recall and messed the communications between the ECU and the climate panel, none of the panels would work then... :surprised: but a forum member came to my rescue and reset the ECU...every thing works now :happy2:

5K0 907 044BC works fine as long has the ECU is the right one :happy2:
 
Darren
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: jedi-knight83 on November 13, 2011, 05:27:08 PM
hmm... whats the benefit?? its uglier than the mk5 set up..
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: mortygttdi on November 13, 2011, 08:13:42 PM
Jedi the appearance is debatable, I find it more pleasing to the eye than the mk5 climate, it fits in with the RNS510 and looks cleaner...also rather than some nasty looking readouts it comes up on the RNS510 screen.

Darren :happy2:
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: Betty02 on November 14, 2011, 08:03:26 AM
Betty its one of them things to do with the right panel to the right ECU,

It is all to do with the ECU, my 05 TDI was perfect and worked with all the panels but VW updated the ECU on a recall and messed the communications between the ECU and the climate panel, none of the panels would work then... :surprised: but a forum member came to my rescue and reset the ECU...every thing works now :happy2:

5K0 907 044BC works fine as long has the ECU is the right one :happy2:
 
Darren

Oh great! Really find it more pleasing on the eye then the MK5 one. How would I go about finding out if I have a compatible ECU? Been offered the same as above for a reasonable price so wouldn't mind getting it all sorted if I can do it!

Thanks for the help, fingers crossed there's an easy way to find out how to check my ECU and if it has been reset!

Thanks
Simon
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: Tamiyoman on November 14, 2011, 09:37:39 AM
Having been offered this option before and looking at it, i actually prefer the look of MK5 climate, I dont like the look of the panel and dont really want info on RNS, stick with what i have and spend my money on reverse camera instead  :grin:
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: mortygttdi on November 16, 2011, 08:43:54 PM
Betty unfortunately the only way to tell is by plugging the climate panel into your car, if it works when you press the a/c button the large fan will come on at the front of the car :happy2: if no fan, no worky

Darren
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: Betty02 on November 16, 2011, 09:05:16 PM
Cheers for the help Darren, aunite asked me today what I want for xmas so will just ask for this so if it doesn't work I will just sell it (she refuses to gie me cash as I hit the pub xmas day :P)

If it works then winner!
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: lingenfelter on December 19, 2011, 11:04:13 AM
Hi everybody.
I own a 2008 gti edition 30. I want to do the climate control reprofit.
Which part should i buy?
My golf has heated seats.
I find "5K0 907 044 N"
which is:
(http://www.happyparts.de/happybilder/5K0907044N-1.jpg)

 "5K0 907 044-60"
which is:
(http://www.happyparts.de/happybilder/5K0907044-11.jpg)

and
5K0907044 BT
which is:
(http://daz.co/media/o45/scotty-boy_2006/P1030169.jpg)
Which one is the right for me?
Thanks!
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: Eddie-NL on December 19, 2011, 11:11:02 AM
Buy one which has heated seats dials on, the N version is a US part and the temperature next to the dial is in Fahrenheit but it will display on the RNS/RCD510 in Celius. The N version is a older panel so you won't have the Missing message fault which newer panels have.
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: lingenfelter on December 19, 2011, 11:16:14 AM
Buy one which has heated seats dials on, the N version is a US part and the temperature next to the dial is in Fahrenheit but it will display on the RNS/RCD510 in Celius. The N version is a older panel so you won't have the Missing message fault which newer panels have.

So i'm going for the "N" version.
Does the cables fit correctly?
Thanks Eddie! :congrats:
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: GTiBlues on June 07, 2016, 09:29:27 PM
Ok they do make them which is good (if this is the right one?)

(http://daz.co/media/l483/Eddie-GT/ED8.jpg)

Part number: 5K0 907 044BC

Now what's all this I read about compressors? I have a 2005 GTi?

Thanks!

Sorry to bring up an old post. Where do you get this heater surround panel from?
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: The Red Warrior on June 09, 2016, 07:03:08 AM
I've just done this mod last Saturday. I did a lot of searching to find a cheap surround but wasn't able to. Ended having to get from dealer. NZ$146 and it took two weeks to arrive ex Germany.
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: GTiBlues on June 09, 2016, 05:58:21 PM
I got one ordered from my local TPS. There's a company from Google search but it only has a outlined pic. So played it safe and ordered it from a well known company at a cheaper price!
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: The Red Warrior on June 10, 2016, 12:21:35 AM
I got one ordered from my local TPS. There's a company from Google search but it only has a outlined pic. So played it safe and ordered it from a well known company at a cheaper price!

Ah, yes. I think I know the outlined pic you speak of. I didn't trust it either
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: otremontiram on June 25, 2016, 12:39:06 PM
i have done this mode, and it looks perfect, everything works ok, except the AC.
I changed pin 16 to pin 20,
press the ac and the third button until they start flashing,
but when i pres the ac and rear heating window nothing happens.
and the ac is still not working.
Any ideas?
this is my control unit,
the car is 06 GT diesel
(http://i478.photobucket.com/albums/rr144/otremontiram/mk5/IMG_0750.jpg~original)
(http://i478.photobucket.com/albums/rr144/otremontiram/mk5/clima01.jpg~original)
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: The Red Warrior on June 26, 2016, 06:21:49 AM
i have done this mode, and it looks perfect, everything works ok, except the AC.
I changed pin 16 to pin 20,
press the ac and the third button until they start flashing,
but when i pres the ac and rear heating window nothing happens.
and the ac is still not working.
Any ideas?
this is my control unit

When I installed mine recently I noticed that the car has to be on (engine running) for the rear window demister to work.
Can't help you with the AC though.
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: ZeePablo on November 14, 2017, 01:19:40 AM
Sorry to refresh post i have mk5 2.0tdi on a 54 running RNS510 id like mk6 climate control my car already has the mk5 digital climate control but mine has the econ option is this still a plug and play situation or not doable due to econ? I read somewhere something along these lines. Many thanks
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: The Red Warrior on November 22, 2017, 08:17:02 AM
Sorry to refresh post i have mk5 2.0tdi on a 54 running RNS510 id like mk6 climate control my car already has the mk5 digital climate control but mine has the econ option is this still a plug and play situation or not doable due to econ? I read somewhere something along these lines. Many thanks

It's still possible. Mine had the Econ button. The Econ button is just called something else on later models but the function is the same.
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: Christiank on December 01, 2017, 04:53:15 PM
If you car is build before May 2007 you'll have to change more wires than is it's build after May 2007.

Models before 5,2007 has 2 flap motors for the fresh air intake where the later model only has one. So for this to function problerly you'll need to disconnect the right flap motor and then the second motor should take the place from the motor you've disconnected.

This however should not be the problem for the AC not working. Do you have VCDS? Since you'll need to change some values and do a first compressor run before the A/C will work again.
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: ady-uk on December 04, 2017, 08:23:17 AM
i have done this mode, and it looks perfect, everything works ok, except the AC.
I changed pin 16 to pin 20,
press the ac and the third button until they start flashing,
but when i pres the ac and rear heating window nothing happens.
and the ac is still not working.
Any ideas?
this is my control unit,
the car is 06 GT diesel
(http://i478.photobucket.com/albums/rr144/otremontiram/mk5/IMG_0750.jpg~original)
(http://i478.photobucket.com/albums/rr144/otremontiram/mk5/clima01.jpg~original)

You'll need to get a newer ECU and get the data cloned from your old ECU into new ECU
Been there.... didn't believe it, but it's true!

more reading here.....
http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,93764.0.html
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: Christiank on December 06, 2017, 09:17:57 PM
Why does he need a new ECU?

I've got a MY05 2.0tdi and it's works flawless with all the wires correctly swapped :)
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: ady-uk on December 07, 2017, 08:07:12 AM
ermm.... hard to explain.

It Just doesn't work, won't get cold air in summer.

05 TDI to about 07 had a glitch in the ECU and it just doesn't work.
I honestly didn't believe it, but lot of knowledgeable told me that is the issue.
I bought a newer revision 2.0 TDI BKD (4motion) ECU (think the newest same base spec was from a Tiguan)
Anyhow.....got a specialist to clone the data from my old ECU, into the new one, swap them over and it the Aircon worked.  Just like that!

Before the ECU change I just swapped back to the old control panel, in the few hot summer weeks we have.
soon as it cooled down, the new panel was fine.  blew cool air but not COLD

Last year, after the ECU swap, had COLD air all summer .... superb
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: shoaybmakda on December 08, 2017, 12:24:59 AM
been wanting to do this mod on my mk5 (2005) for a while but the more i read about it the more it puts me off with people having loads of issues getting it to work 100%..

mines not got heated seats with the Econ button - worried about issues people have had with misting and having aircon on all the time and a few other bits.. shame as i have mk6 clocks and wheel and the RNS - it would complete my set up!
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: Christiank on February 05, 2018, 05:33:41 PM
This wouldn't stop me from fitting the new panel mate.

really isn't that difficult to do the wire changes needed and it's not a big deal to remove that dashboard, this is only the case if you shall replace your air intake for a single flap motor operated from a two motor one.

Still need to do this myself but I'm waiting for some better weather so I can remove the dashboard to install it correctly :)

I've installed a mk6 dashboard to my mk5 and ind took 2 days, could have done everything in 1 day but I was in no rush having it installed asap.
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: Team Traxxion on February 13, 2018, 07:40:18 PM
Sorry to jump on an old thread again, but I like to get as much info as possible before I start stripping my car apart!

I am about to do this mod on my 2008 R32, it has heated seats and dual climate. This is the first I've read about wire swaps. The videos I've seen imply it's a straight swap! :surprised:

The other questionis, how do I get the settings to show on the head unit? I have an RNS510 with nav.

Thanks and appreciate any help you experts can give me. I have VCDS so happy to tinker to my hearts content!

Regards

Chris
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: The Red Warrior on February 15, 2018, 07:45:23 PM
The wires that need swapping depend on what version your swapping with.
I recommend adding the air quality sensor too while you’re doing it.
The settings will show automatically on your RCD510. No coding needed for that bit. (And no pun intended).
Title: Re: MK6 Climate Control
Post by: Wolf Burger on February 16, 2018, 08:47:35 PM
I have a Mk6 non heated panel for sale if anyone is looking for one.
From 2011 Mk6R

I can post pics and part number