Make a donation

Author Topic: Interior Door Handle Illumination  (Read 10639 times)

Offline MIJ_JAGGER

• Won't Shut up.
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 103
  • -Receive: 77
Re: Interior Door Handle Illumination
« Reply #15 on: December 30, 2017, 10:08:13 pm »
Glad you managed to get it sorted mate.

Which pin outputs did you end up using for your module? :)
Pin 26, did try pin 17 as I read somewhere people using that too, but that seemed to keep the led on even when I switched headlights off...
Pin 21 for ground was taken already so I spliced into the ground wire for the door exit lights.
Apparently pin 22 can be used for ground too....but didn't bother attempting

Offline MIJ_JAGGER

• Won't Shut up.
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 103
  • -Receive: 77
Interior Door Handle Illumination
« Reply #16 on: January 24, 2018, 10:26:35 am »
Basic guide, I’m not good at writing these things, if anything doesn’t make sense then drop me a message and I’ll be more than happy to help

Sorry for the lack of pics in advance!

Things I used: (example links)

3MM pre wired flat top led
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F130919847226

3MM led holder
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F131217993374

I also used some wire connectors to save me removing the pins from the module if I have to take the door cards off in the future.
I did have these connectors on there first but removed for snap in ones

No pics of the new connectors connected but you’re literally just wiring red to red and black to black, solder them and heatshrink.

You will need the wire pins to install into the door module connector, no link sorry, see pic

As far as tools go, whatever you need to open the door cards etc, a drill, soldering iron. I did use a hot glue gun but optional, some heatshrink or electrical tape. Will require coding so VCDS needed.