Make a donation

Author Topic: DIY - Low Oil Pressure at Idle HOW TO FIX GUIDE  (Read 2961 times)

Offline OllieVRS

• Always Involved
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 15
  • -Receive: 13
DIY - Low Oil Pressure at Idle HOW TO FIX GUIDE
« on: August 01, 2023, 03:12:18 am »
Low Oil Pressure at Idle HOW TO FIX GUIDE

This is a guide for people diagnosing low oil pressure only at idle specifically, who have already measured their oil pressure with a mechanical gauge tool. This is not a guide for those experiencing insufficient oil pressure at 2000 or 3000 RPM, your problem likely lies elsewhere. Using this fix, I was able to raise my idle pressure from 0.8 bar to 1.2 bar.

And of course, I'm not a professional mechanic, just someone who has spent an unhealthy amount of time on internet forums, learning about oil pressure on TFSIs. And I have experience of solving low oil pressure on my own TFSI, using the fix I describe in this guide. So follow this guide at your own risk, and only if you have experience of working with engine internals.

Please read through this guide fully right to the end before disassembling your own engine, as there is info regarding the location of bolts that must be noted before disassembly.

With that out the way, here's what your TFSI engine should be getting with the oil at 80°C. If you can't check this with VCDS, it's about 15 minutes after your dash [coolant] temperature hits 90.

Oil Pressure Spray Jets
Once you've verified it's not a blocked pick-up pipe, loose pump balance shaft end, stuck pump pressure release valve or worn pump rotor mechanism, it's time to look the last possible thing it can be.