Make a donation

Author Topic: First project  (Read 883 times)

Offline Thebicboi

• Can't Read PM's Yet!
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
First project
« on: December 19, 2019, 11:00:03 am »
Hi, basically I have a 1.4 golf s 58 plate. Iv had it for a while now and thought about selling it BUT recently decided that there's no point as I wouldn't get much (no service book, one key blah blah) but I know I've kept it good!
So iv always wanted to do a little car project of my own so I thought why not? It's sitting there.
So the question I wanted to ask was iv looked at body kits and I know exactly what I want but wanted to see what everyone thinks of doing these things on a 1.4 3 door and if it would be affected in a bad way.
GTi front bumper + skirts
R32 back with exhaust - what kind of sound would come from a 1.4L car?
Alloys ( not decided) (would 18" make it sluggish)
Couple of other things like fender flares or wider arches with spacers
(I'm new with this so don't laugh at my lack of knowledge lol)
Any help appreciated !

Sent from my Redmi Note 8 Pro using Tapatalk

Offline Ytee

• Just Arrived
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 1
Re: First project
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2019, 09:50:27 pm »
Intriguing. What's your end goal? Are you looking for track/fast road fun, or are you just trying to make it look better/faster?

I'm no expert at modding by any means, but if you're looking for actual performance then I think you'll be better off starting from a better platform. Otherwise you'll spend a fortune on mods just to make it as quick as, say, a standard GT Sport, and the insurance premium would be twice as much as it would be for one of those!

If, however, you're just in it for kicks or to create something unique... and money is no object... then yeh, have at it and let the creative juices flow :)

Sent from my H3113 using Tapatalk

Stage 1 '07 Mk5 GTI

Offline Thebicboi

• Can't Read PM's Yet!
  • Thank You