Author Topic: Tyre pressure sensors?  (Read 2690 times)

Offline probedb

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 93
Tyre pressure sensors?
« on: April 11, 2019, 12:16:25 PM »
Does anything need swapping on the wheels? I've got a set of 18" diamond cut monzas from a mk6 to go on and was wondering if I needed to move any sensors as I have the pressure warning button in my car?

Online MIJ_JAGGER

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 103
  • -Receive: 72
  • Posts: 692
Re: Tyre pressure sensors?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2019, 01:01:39 PM »
No

Offline probedb

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 93
Re: Tyre pressure sensors?
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2019, 01:16:03 PM »
Cheers !

Offline amanda

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 11
  • Posts: 292
Re: Tyre pressure sensors?
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2019, 01:22:27 PM »
If you are selling your old wheels keep the valves as spares 😉

Offline probedb

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 93
Re: Tyre pressure sensors?
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2019, 01:32:10 PM »
Keeping the old 17s for winter  :smiley:

Offline rich83

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 165
  • -Receive: 773
  • Posts: 12973
    • MK5 Golf GTI
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,19740.0.html
Re: Tyre pressure sensors?
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2019, 01:44:36 PM »
There are no sensors for the mk5 tyre warning system. It uses the ABS sensors.

Offline probedb

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 93
Re: Tyre pressure sensors?
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2019, 02:18:04 PM »
There are no sensors for the mk5 tyre warning system. It uses the ABS sensors.

Excellent, thanks very much, clears that up nicely :)

Offline amanda

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 11
  • Posts: 292
Re: Tyre pressure sensors?
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2019, 02:45:20 PM »
There are no sensors for the mk5 tyre warning system. It uses the ABS sensors.

Depends as mine have Tps sensors as an option

Offline probedb

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 93
Re: Tyre pressure sensors?
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2019, 02:56:58 PM »

Offline Shoduchi

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 222
  • -Receive: 420
  • Posts: 4109
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,95592.msg952042.html
Re: Tyre pressure sensors?
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2019, 01:51:12 PM »
There are no sensors for the mk5 tyre warning system. It uses the ABS sensors.

Depends as mine have Tps sensors as an option

Golfs and other models of the same segment have a passive sensor system. There are no wheel sensors. It just uses the ABS sensors like rich83 said.

Offline ady-uk

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 21
  • -Receive: 22
  • Posts: 184
    • Email
Re: Tyre pressure sensors?
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2019, 05:10:36 PM »
My golf has tpms, with wheel sensors, and displays all type pressure in the clocks.

Quick video I did when installing discover media - TPMS display about 4:50 in

« Last Edit: April 12, 2019, 05:12:44 PM by ady-uk »
VW Golf 2.0 Gtd 140 4motion (2005)
Factory fitted: xenons, sunroof, heated leather seats, fold in mirrors with downlights,
Custom: Mk6 steering wheel, updated gateway, RNS510 remote boot pop, LED lighting.

Offline Pudding

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 436
  • Posts: 5140
Re: Tyre pressure sensors?
« Reply #11 on: April 12, 2019, 06:11:05 PM »
Good description here...

https://www.my-gti.com/321/volkswagen-tyre-pressure-monitoring-system-tpms

That's a lot of words to say a flat tyre has a different rolling circumference to a pumped up one  :grin:

It's useful on motorways if the light comes on so you can pull over before causing damage, otherwise it's not a lot of use as it doesn't tell you which tyre is flat.

Black Edition 30 with manually selected cogs, a beefier clutch, some extra boost and them Whiteline thingies, otherwise standard.

Offline Shoduchi

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 222
  • -Receive: 420
  • Posts: 4109
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,95592.msg952042.html
Re: Tyre pressure sensors?
« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2019, 02:20:06 PM »
My golf has tpms, with wheel sensors, and displays all type pressure in the clocks.

Quick video I did when installing discover media - TPMS display about 4:50 in



I never said it was impossible to retrofit the active TPMS. :wink: