Author Topic: aircon  (Read 624 times)

Offline gazza

  • Can't Read PM's Yet!
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 9
aircon
« on: June 12, 2020, 02:28:07 PM »
Is it worth replacing the g65 sensor just for the hell of it to potentially fix before going to the stealers to see if my compressor is fekked

Symptom - isn't blowing cold
Checked - fuse ok - blower motor ok (now - so thats where me credit card went !) - regassed at kwik fit (no charge ) - no leaks reported

Dont have vcds

Offline slynch23

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 74
Re: aircon
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2020, 09:48:02 AM »
Whatever you do don’t go to the dealers. Had mine done at an Indy last week and it was £320 all in.. £250 of that was the compressor. Would probably cost double at the dealers

Offline colesey

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 69
  • Posts: 804
Re: aircon
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2020, 03:52:57 PM »

Offline gazza

  • Can't Read PM's Yet!
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: aircon
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2020, 05:05:02 PM »
How did they diagnose the specific issue ? cheers

Offline Cosmos

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 55
  • 376bhp 423lbs torque
  • My Ride: Golf Gti Edition 30
Re: aircon
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2020, 06:47:43 PM »
I had my aircon stop blowing cold air,Had the sensor replaced and regassed.All was fine for a while then it stopped blowing cold air again.Had it pressured up on the garages machine for leaks and had a sniffer test which never found any leaks, got it charged up again at the garage and all fine again for a few months then it stopped blowing cold again.Took it to ATS for a check and charge up if it passed to which it did so charged up again.A few months later it stopped working again so pulled the front bumper off and called in a air con specialist guy to come have a look. He found a leak in the condenser within 2 mins ! Seen it bubbling out in the top corner.Ordered a new condenser from euro car parts which for the life of me wouldn't line up unless i kinked the pipes so took it back and then got a genuine condenser from tps and it fitted ok.Took it back to ATS who charged it up again and its “fingers crossed” been fine and that was last autumn time.

Offline slynch23

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 74
Re: aircon
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2020, 09:41:44 AM »
How did they diagnose the specific issue ? cheers

Not entirely sure mate. It couldn’t be regassed because of a leak and I was told it was the compressor. Seems to work now so they must have been right

Offline slynch23

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 74
Re: aircon
« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2020, 10:57:19 AM »
Guess I spoke to soon.. Doesn’t appear to be working even after a brand new compressor 😩

Offline ljc19630

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 13
  • Posts: 360
Re: aircon
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2020, 04:21:45 PM »
Have you replaced the following?

Ambient air temp switch?
Compressor Solenoid
AC pressure switch
 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline slynch23

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 74
Re: aircon
« Reply #8 on: June 17, 2020, 07:28:50 PM »
Nope, just the compressor as far as I’m aware. Back in the garage today so hopefully find out tomorrow if it’s sorted or not

Offline slynch23

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 74
Re: aircon
« Reply #9 on: June 21, 2020, 04:10:12 PM »
Does anybody know the next step in fixing the air con once the compressor has been replaced? The garage couldn’t find a leak. They’re a bit perplexed as to what the problem is. Anyone experienced this?

Offline GVK

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 13
  • Posts: 193
    • Email
Re: aircon
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2020, 04:05:32 AM »
Quote
Have you replaced the following?

Ambient air temp switch?
Compressor Solenoid
AC pressure switch

Also - has the hvac been scanned for codes?
 
:popcornsoda:

https://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,124671.0.html

Loads of info on there.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2020, 04:53:56 AM by GVK »
Reflex Silver Edition 30

Offline slynch23

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 74
Re: aircon
« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2020, 01:40:18 PM »
That looked to be about the fans, my seem to be working. The AC has worked after being regassed twice, but then stops. But no apparent leak can be found 😩😩