Make a donation

Author Topic: Bought MK5 that was owned by a person who’s now deceased.  (Read 1517 times)

Offline Zmoohmk5

• Can't Read PM's Yet!
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
    • Email
Bought MK5 that was owned by a person who’s now deceased.
« on: October 27, 2022, 06:48:57 am »
His significant other knows nothing about it other than it’s got and apr stage 1 tune.

It’s a 2009 DSG GTI with an APR stage one tune. And I know nothing about it.

How do I remap the ecu between factory and stage 1 guys? Is there something I’m supposed to buy in order to be able to reprogram it?

Can anyone help me find instructions on how to use the tune? I’m very new to this.

Many many thanks in advance.

Offline pudding

• Global Moderator
  • Just look at my post count
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 675
Re: Bought MK5 that was owned by a person who’s now deceased.
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2022, 08:04:35 am »
HP Tuners is the most accessible tuning tool but it costs around £600 for the interface and software.

For that kind of money you might want to consider one of the established mapping services already available.

And if you know nothing about tuning, you really shouldn’t be messing with it anyway as you can very easily blow the engine. HP Academy do online video courses if you want to learn hor to tune engines though. They even have a specific MK5 GTI course  :happy2:

The only way to get it back to standard is via ODIS at VW dealers, but most will refuse to do it as there’s a chance over-writing an aftermarket map will brick the ECU.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2022, 08:06:27 am by Pudding »

2007 ED30 | 2009 TDI 140 | 2016 BMW 330D

Online Octoparrot

• Won't Shut up.
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 100
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2022, 09:47:55 am »
I think he just wants to be able to switch between the factory and APR map settings, not tune it himself. :thinking:

Offline pudding

• Global Moderator
  • Thank You