Author Topic: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!  (Read 563 times)

Offline Spursboy

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 20
  • My Ride: Volkswagen Golf GTI 2.0 T FSI DSG (2005 5dr)
VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« on: July 18, 2020, 11:48:15 AM »
Hi all,

I'm the proud new owner of a 55-plate Mk5 Golf GTI DSG (!) and I'm in the process of refreshing the dashboard - the cluster, followed by the canbus and finally an RCD330.

I've bought myself a 972D highline cluster to replace my midline and I'm following this guide to change it over (https://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=33055.0), but I'm having trouble getting the car to connect via VAG Commander.

I've tried using versions 1.4, 2.5 and 3.6 with an official Ross-Tech HEX USB CAN cable, going down the VCP route as per Imnuts' instructions, and even changed OS (from Windows 10 to 7 and XP), but I just can't get the program to communicate with the car.

Can someone help me with this please? Alternatively, can someone point me in the direction of which cable I should buy or which set-up I should go for? If anyone is local, I'm based in Cheshunt, Hertfordshire (and I'll happily give them a drink).

Thanks in advance!

Offline Rossimac

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 90
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 567
    • Email
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,90767.0.html
Re: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2020, 05:59:33 PM »
Sorry I can't help, but I've just bought a set off eBay as well, so hoping to do the same. I always had issues getting knock-off Vagcom clones to work whereas the genuine VCDS works every time, so I bought one of those many years ago.

I bought a VAG Commander on eBay after buying the highline clocks. Neither have arrived but when they do, I'll be sure to keep you updated of how I get on.

Offline Spursboy

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 20
  • My Ride: Volkswagen Golf GTI 2.0 T FSI DSG (2005 5dr)
Re: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2020, 06:08:30 PM »
No worries, can you send me the link to the eBay listing if it works please?

In the meantime, all the best with it!

Offline GVK

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 13
  • Posts: 208
    • Email
Re: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2020, 07:57:32 PM »
Reflex Silver Edition 30

Offline LC5F

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 247
Re: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2020, 10:01:25 PM »
It will not work with a VCDS cable.

You need a "Vag commander" cable with software - search that on ebay, be aware most of the listings will be from China and will take a while to arrive.

Before  it arrives, you need to do more research, be aware that you can easily brick the dash on Mk5

Offline Spursboy

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 20
  • My Ride: Volkswagen Golf GTI 2.0 T FSI DSG (2005 5dr)
Re: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2020, 11:26:43 AM »
Thanks very much for your input, guys.

@GVK - looked for a KKL cable but doesn't seem to be compatible with anything after 03-04 so Mk5 is out of the equation.

@LC5F - I've seen plenty so I'll go for one of those!

Can you also tell me what kind of research I should check out/what things other than what's mentioned in the tutorial that I should know about?

As far as I know, I just need the SKC from my existing cluster - or do I need anything else? I've used VCDS a fair bit before so (I think) I know what I'm doing...  :grin:
« Last Edit: July 19, 2020, 11:28:14 AM by Spursboy »

Offline LC5F

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 247
Re: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2020, 12:59:15 PM »
just be a sponge for anything Mk5 Golf SKC online

Offline Rossimac

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 90
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 567
    • Email
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,90767.0.html
Re: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2020, 04:58:45 PM »
http://furmanka.blogspot.com/2008/02/mk5-mfd-plus-hi-line-cluster.html?m=1


The above is the site I'll be using to guide me through the process. Hopefully it's applicable to our 55 plate GTIs.

Offline Spursboy

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 20
  • My Ride: Volkswagen Golf GTI 2.0 T FSI DSG (2005 5dr)
Re: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2020, 06:17:54 PM »
@Rossimac - you're a legend! Just bought this cable: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/184369530696

Will let you all know how I get on. Thanks again!  :drinking:

Offline Spursboy

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 20
  • My Ride: Volkswagen Golf GTI 2.0 T FSI DSG (2005 5dr)
Re: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2020, 12:54:48 PM »
Right, so the good and bad news... starting with the good...

1. Cluster went straight in, as per both tutorials in this thread, and works nicely with the MFSW!

Now for the bad...

As documented, I'm having problems with ABS Brakes and Steering Angle Sensor (ESP and tyre lights are on the dash). I stupidly deleted the software coding when trying to follow simple instructions, so now I need to rebuild my seven-digit code.

Could anyone help me build mine or does anyone else have the same spec as me, which I could use? It's an MK60.

Finally, can anyone help me resolve the issues with G85, G200 and G201? VCDS came up with 'No or Incorrect Basic Setting / Adaptation' for them.

Thank you!

Offline Octoparrot

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 67
  • Posts: 701
    • Email

Offline Spursboy

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 20
  • My Ride: Volkswagen Golf GTI 2.0 T FSI DSG (2005 5dr)
Re: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2020, 07:05:52 PM »
Thank you, I’ll give that a try. I’m also getting oil and wiper washer warnings, which I never got before - how do I get rid of those?

Offline Rossimac

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 90
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 567
    • Email
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,90767.0.html
Re: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2020, 02:04:33 AM »
Just installed mine. Very easy to do. The hardest part was the adaptation of the G85.

My process was to follow the guidelines that Octoparrot linked to: drive straight under 20kmhs. Then get Coding II with the code 40168, then Basic Settings group 060. After doing this, my screen came up ERROR despite the guide saying it should say OK. went for another small drive then exited out of Basic Settings and the ESP and TPMS lights went out. Then I just had to drive and do some full lock turns to get the power steering to kick in.

If you're stuck, I can guide you on WhatsApp video or something.

Offline Spursboy

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 20
  • My Ride: Volkswagen Golf GTI 2.0 T FSI DSG (2005 5dr)
Re: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2020, 10:25:01 AM »
@Octoparrot and @Rossimac - how could I ever repay you both?!

Lights are off now and I’m chuffed. Managed to find the same software code online (4738 I think) and followed all the steps you both sent me.

The only issue I had was that a system test had been activated, which meant the brake lights refused to go away. I managed to stop the test by following these instructions: https://www.autoserviceprofessional.com/3568/make-the-test-stop

I still get warnings for wiper and oil, but I’ve just had a service and some say they go away eventually so I’ll see how it goes.

Thank you all again!!!

Offline Rossimac

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 90
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 567
    • Email
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,90767.0.html
Re: VAG Commander to obtain SKC - help!
« Reply #14 on: July 21, 2020, 01:00:06 PM »
Great to hear!