Author Topic: How to, Midline to highline retrofit  (Read 39879 times)

Offline james

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 20
  • Posts: 594
How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« on: August 02, 2011, 09:44:31 AM »
Well the day started fine!  I thought I would change my clocks to highline clocks.

I run into a few problems so I thought I would create a little read me for anyone else.

What is needed,

T20 (remove clocks)
T15 (remove glass)(Not needed if dont want to clean glass / use the front that it comes with)
VCDS
VAG commander

Well it started like this,


Then load VCDS, go into Instruments-17  and take a screen shot of the coding.


Load up VAG Commander. Open channel on 07 and then select Instrument / immobilizer


Then select ”read current odometer value “  this will display your current mileage of your car (write this down or take a screen shot)
Once done select “Read security access code” this will take around 2min and it will display a 4 digit pin.   


Select “Read/write IMMO data”  This will also show your 4 digit immobilizer code.
Select read and then save,  stockclocks.bin (You will need this later to restore to your new cluster)


Now disconnect your battery  and remove your clocks ( pull out the small piece of plastic above your steering wheel and it will reveal  2 T20 screws, the clocks will just pull out)

Have a cup of tea :)

If you don’t have USA clocks you can skip this bit and go to section 2

Release the clips around your cluster and it will fall into two half’s
Once in half take the front half and remove the 3 T15 screws and release the plastic clips around the edge.
(I did this process with both of my clusters)


New and old next to each other
You can see the USA clocks have the water temp in Fahrenheit and the dial faces are different ( don’t have nice pictures like UK, they just have text  (BRAKE ect)


You don’t need to do this part but I took the glass out and gave it a good clean.


Reinstalled all the glass


All nice and clean ( sad I know)


Here is a picture of the USA cluster before I removed all the dials


I removed the dials by placing a small amount of tissue under a screw driver and applying a small amount of force to pop the dials off.


Old clusters ready for transplant :)


Installed into new cluster,  now UK version


Done the reverse and put the cluster back together


Section2
Installed the cluster into the car, reconnect battery.  The immobilizer is active and needs recoding.


Back into VAG commander  (Open channel on 07 and then select “Instrument / immobilizer” then select ” Read/write IMMO data”)
Select read and save the new clusters configuration  for backup reasons.
Once done select open, and select your old cluster configuration.  Then select write. 
Turn off the ignition and leave the car for 5 min ( Or it won’t save the new immobilizer pin)




Have some more tea :)

Now correct the car mileage
 
Open VAG commander (Open channel on 07 and then select “Instrument / immobilizer” then select “Read current odometer value”)
Enter the value from the old cluster and select “ change odometer”


All done and the car starts fine but loads of faults to correct


Load up VCDS and do a full scan and see what faults show.
I had problems with
Steering Angle (G85)
http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/VW_Golf_(1K)_Steering_Assist#Adaptation
Lateral Acceleration Sensor (G200)
Brake Pressure Sensor 1 (G201)
http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/VW_Golf_(1K)_Brake_Electronics_(MK60)#Coding
-------------
Oil level sensor needs enabling on USA cluster 
VCDS ( block 17, select coding)  Ender 039
Channel 039: Oil Level Sensor Adaptation
Change from 0 to 1
Will work fine
---------
Just follow the instructions and all will be fine :)

No more faults


This will work up to cluster 972(2006) for 973 i think you need some different software to change the car mileage. 974 (VW job)


Any problems give me a shout happy help :):)

Offline LouCyffer

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 36
  • -Receive: 63
  • Posts: 875
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2011, 11:40:50 AM »
Fantastic write up, well done :congrats:

Brilliant detail and great pictures, this should be a sticky, mods. This write up deserves a medal, or at least a bag of sweets. James, a stack of hard work here that should make this commonly asked for mod much easier. Spot on mate.

One point, I've just swapped 964 midline to 974 Highline, thanks to Kalu on here. He can work the fix. VW can retrofit a 974 cluster only if its brand new.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2011, 11:46:38 AM by LouCyffer »
Black 2008 5 door GTI. Leather, DSG, ipod prep, 18" Monzas. Retrofitted: Cruise, PDC, RNS510, 729 Skoda Bluetooth (thanks SteveP), MFSW buttons (thanks MortyGTTDi), Armrest & vents, covered cupholder, Highline (thanks Kalu), Polar FIS+ (thanks Richn), Reversing camera (thanks MortyGTTDi)

WILLZIE

  • Guest
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2011, 01:14:46 PM »
 :happy2: Good write up!

Offline gtlee

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 9
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 369
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2011, 03:51:41 PM »
Great write up with good detail and photos!

Well done.
Golf V 5DR DSG GT Sport,,Xenons,Full leather,18'Charlestons,Lux pack,storage pack,folding mirrors,front armrest, retrofited--mk5 gti  grilles,fog lamps grilles,GTi rear bumper,coloured coded sideskirts, VIM RNS-510 C,MK6 MFSW with paddles,GTi DSG gear lever,Cruise control,Highline.Rain sensor with window auto closure,TPMS.7P6 Bluetooth.

Mods to come: RVC, and.................

Offline parks

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 17
  • Posts: 370
  • Red ED30 No. 1778 Detailing World member
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2011, 07:22:18 PM »
How do you know which cluster you have/need?
Standard: Rear parking sensors, Parrot Bluetooth
Retro fitted: MFSW buttons, RCD510, Boot pop, Black Monza II, Xenons, Audi jacking points, open fog light grills.

Offline LouCyffer

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 36
  • -Receive: 63
  • Posts: 875
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2011, 09:49:26 PM »
Have - scan your car with VCDS or pull out your clocks & look at the label on it.

Need - read the forum sticky http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,18021.0.html
Black 2008 5 door GTI. Leather, DSG, ipod prep, 18" Monzas. Retrofitted: Cruise, PDC, RNS510, 729 Skoda Bluetooth (thanks SteveP), MFSW buttons (thanks MortyGTTDi), Armrest & vents, covered cupholder, Highline (thanks Kalu), Polar FIS+ (thanks Richn), Reversing camera (thanks MortyGTTDi)

Offline lee_

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 59
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2011, 04:52:30 PM »
Nice write up, cheers!  :happy2:

Offline Thecrawf

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 71
    • Email
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2011, 10:13:31 PM »
So someone correct if im right (I know you all will) in VCDS can you "clock" the car and roll the mileage back,  I know its illegal.... Before you all start lol

Is there a check bit to show that the mileage has been tampered with ?

Thanks
Really do miss the mk5 Perelli rare breed of car
Audi S3 black edition 1 week old went wrong sent back to Audi
RS3 order cancelled bought C63 AMG PPP now sold after a year of expensive trips to kwik fit
New car BMW M135i loaded to the hilt

Offline GLIDN

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 12
  • -Receive: 19
  • Posts: 552
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2011, 07:06:09 AM »
So someone correct if im right (I know you all will) in VCDS can you "clock" the car and roll the mileage back

No, you can only set the mileage with VCDS if the clocks show less than 100km


Is there a check bit to show that the mileage has been tampered with ?


Yes you can check the mileage stored in the engine ecu with VCDS in EDC15/EDC16 ecu's (used in the 1.9 and 2.0 TDI PD)

Any additional information, in regards to the Mileage tampering? I would like to check if my GTI had been done or not.

thanks

Offline Thecrawf

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 71
    • Email
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2011, 09:32:02 AM »
So someone correct if im right (I know you all will) in VCDS can you "clock" the car and roll the mileage back

No, you can only set the mileage with VCDS if the clocks show less than 100km


Is there a check bit to show that the mileage has been tampered with ?


Yes you can check the mileage stored in the engine ecu with VCDS in EDC15/EDC16 ecu's (used in the 1.9 and 2.0 TDI PD)

Any additional information, in regards to the Mileage tampering? I would like to check if my GTI had been done or not.

thanks

Yes me too MILDN
Really do miss the mk5 Perelli rare breed of car
Audi S3 black edition 1 week old went wrong sent back to Audi
RS3 order cancelled bought C63 AMG PPP now sold after a year of expensive trips to kwik fit
New car BMW M135i loaded to the hilt

Offline vRStu

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 90
  • -Receive: 158
  • Posts: 2562
    • Octavia-vRS Information Resource
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2011, 09:37:20 AM »
Here you go guys -

http://www.ross-tech.com/vcds/tour/EDC-15-Mileage.html

It won't work for your GTI's though.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2011, 09:38:54 AM by vRStu »
Stu...

Quartz Grey Audi A4 3.0 TDi S-Line Quattro, 7 Speed S-Tronic, 19" Twin Spoke Alloys, Alcantara Upholstery with Silver Stitching and Heating, Sat Nav High, B & O Sound, Audi Music Interface, DAB Radio, Parking Advanced with Rear View Camera, Advanced Keyless Entry, LED Interior Light Pack, Hill Hold Assist, Heated and Electrically Folding Mirrors, Through Load.

RNS510 Video in Motion unlocking, PIN recovery & DVD Region Free available

Offline Thecrawf

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 71
    • Email
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2011, 09:42:11 AM »
Love The quote

"Europe where odometer fraud is rampant."

It wasn't until the eastern block countries joined to the so called Europe  :signLOL:
Really do miss the mk5 Perelli rare breed of car
Audi S3 black edition 1 week old went wrong sent back to Audi
RS3 order cancelled bought C63 AMG PPP now sold after a year of expensive trips to kwik fit
New car BMW M135i loaded to the hilt

Offline johnhol78

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 579
    • Email
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #12 on: August 11, 2011, 07:22:11 AM »
What was the cost of the Highline cluster if you don't mind me asking.

Want to do this and add MFSW.

Thanks

Offline sevano

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 12
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2011, 04:43:06 PM »
Hi James

Can you pls advice if the steps are the same if I am using a brand new highline cluster?
Thanks!

Offline stevw1

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 242
    • Email
Re: How to, Midline to highline retrofit
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2011, 09:29:04 PM »
I have a set of Highline clocks from a 2007 Jetta TDI 947B wanted to put them into my 2005 Golf TDI.

VW job only then ? TERRIFIC £££££££££££££££££££££   :scared: