Author Topic: rns510 v16 new maps  (Read 2879 times)

Offline toosmiles

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 22
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 635
    • Email
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,92286.0.html
Re: rns510 v16 new maps
« Reply #15 on: January 26, 2019, 12:03:42 AM »
mine took a few hours to update last time,do you know if you can turn the car off while updating then itll pick up from where it left and continue?
if not itll be a long journey out lol
Golf R mk6 R-tech tuned GTX3071r

Offline Shoduchi

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 222
  • -Receive: 420
  • Posts: 4109
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,95592.msg952042.html
Re: rns510 v16 new maps
« Reply #16 on: January 28, 2019, 12:38:16 PM »
mine took a few hours to update last time,do you know if you can turn the car off while updating then itll pick up from where it left and continue?
if not itll be a long journey out lol

It continues from where it stopped. The radio keeps updating for about 30 minutes after turning off the ignition too. :smiley:

Offline loop

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 229
Re: rns510 v16 new maps
« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2019, 12:47:04 AM »
Anyone noticed any new roads on the new maps?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
05 GT Sport. Retrofits: RNS 510, R32 Highlines, R32 MFSW, Reversing Camera, Bluetooth, TPMS, Cruise Control, Chrome switches, Blaupunkt 475 amp.

Offline leetdi22

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 81
    • Email
Re: rns510 v16 new maps
« Reply #18 on: February 07, 2019, 09:03:05 PM »
do i unzip and burn to a disk ?
is it both parts i put on disc ?
thanks in advance

Offline loop

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 229
Re: rns510 v16 new maps
« Reply #19 on: April 12, 2019, 09:25:28 AM »
While installing my maps the car turned off power halfway through (even though key was in ignition still), so I turned on again and the maps started to install again from where it had got to before. Will this be ok or should I reinstall the whole maps from scratch?
It seems to have updated in the version info settings.
05 GT Sport. Retrofits: RNS 510, R32 Highlines, R32 MFSW, Reversing Camera, Bluetooth, TPMS, Cruise Control, Chrome switches, Blaupunkt 475 amp.

Offline Shoduchi

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 222
  • -Receive: 420
  • Posts: 4109
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,95592.msg952042.html
Re: rns510 v16 new maps
« Reply #20 on: April 12, 2019, 01:19:07 PM »
While installing my maps the car turned off power halfway through (even though key was in ignition still), so I turned on again and the maps started to install again from where it had got to before. Will this be ok or should I reinstall the whole maps from scratch?
It seems to have updated in the version info settings.
It's fine. It completes the update like that without issues. The radio shut off to prevent draining the battery too much.

Offline shoaybmakda

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 32
  • -Receive: 61
  • Posts: 1162
Re: rns510 v16 new maps
« Reply #21 on: May 15, 2019, 03:12:15 PM »
Are the POI and speed cameras built into the maps or are they separate files?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
on the disc i got of my mate they were on
Separate files you can look here
https://free-speed-cam-updates.web2diz.net/download/

Probably a really stupid question but how do you update the maps with the speed cameras?

Thought I would ask before I buy some discs, anyone happy to sell me a copy of their maps? I have a mac and I've had issues with burning the maps before so really wanted to avoid going down that route!
« Last Edit: May 15, 2019, 03:17:06 PM by shoaybmakda »

Offline Shoduchi

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 222
  • -Receive: 420
  • Posts: 4109
  • My Ride: http://www.mk5golfgti.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,95592.msg952042.html
Re: rns510 v16 new maps
« Reply #22 on: May 15, 2019, 08:40:29 PM »
Are the POI and speed cameras built into the maps or are they separate files?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
on the disc i got of my mate they were on
Separate files you can look here
https://free-speed-cam-updates.web2diz.net/download/

Probably a really stupid question but how do you update the maps with the speed cameras?

Thought I would ask before I buy some discs, anyone happy to sell me a copy of their maps? I have a mac and I've had issues with burning the maps before so really wanted to avoid going down that route!

I get a camera database for GPS units (TomTom, etc.) of my country and then make my RNS-510 POI personal database with POInspect0r. After making the file I upload it to my radio on the Setup menu. This adds the cameras to the default POI on my map.

Offline loop

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 229
Re: rns510 v16 new maps
« Reply #23 on: May 16, 2019, 01:15:07 AM »
On my v16 maps, the speed cameras were already on there once I loaded the disc along with the other POIs.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
05 GT Sport. Retrofits: RNS 510, R32 Highlines, R32 MFSW, Reversing Camera, Bluetooth, TPMS, Cruise Control, Chrome switches, Blaupunkt 475 amp.

Offline loop

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 26
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 229
Re: rns510 v16 new maps
« Reply #24 on: May 16, 2019, 09:03:11 PM »
Actually the speed cameras I have on my maps may have come from a previous POI file I loaded.
I did get a file with speed camera updates when I ordered my maps disc from eBay.
It says July 2018 though, so there are probably more up to date files out there, but this is quite an easy way of loading the database file onto the RNS 510 via SD card.
05 GT Sport. Retrofits: RNS 510, R32 Highlines, R32 MFSW, Reversing Camera, Bluetooth, TPMS, Cruise Control, Chrome switches, Blaupunkt 475 amp.