Author Topic: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain  (Read 52928 times)

Offline jedi-knight83

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 12
  • -Receive: 41
  • Posts: 1355
    • Cambridge Autogleam Detailing
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #15 on: July 13, 2013, 10:24:14 AM »
Hi there, ive recently installed a rcd510 in my vw golf mk5 2.0 sdi 06 plate, therefore need to fix the battery drain issue. Ive looked through many websites nd forums but cant seem to get me head round it. My fuse box looks very different to the ones uploaded on here plus how would i know which can bus gateway i need for my car?

I am a novice..require help..

Regards,
SuhailVincentBee

PM EddieNL about the updated canbus and he will know which one will work.

in the short term just find an empty fuse port with ignition live and jump that into the current radio fuse port.
Golf GTI DSG "ED30 Tribute" - RTech: 254bhp / 323lbft | MK6 GTI DSG S.Wheel | MK6 GTI speedo | MK6 climate | RCD510DAB | Bluetooth | Milltek Cat back | H&R Springs & Rear ARB | WALK | 19" BBS CH | MK7R 340mm brakes - INFO


Offline SuhailVinnyBee

  • Can't Read PM's Yet!
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 3
    • Email
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #16 on: July 13, 2013, 11:10:58 AM »
Il email you a picture of my fuse box. Could you guide me through please..

Offline jedi-knight83

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 12
  • -Receive: 41
  • Posts: 1355
    • Cambridge Autogleam Detailing
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #17 on: July 13, 2013, 11:19:53 AM »
Il email you a picture of my fuse box. Could you guide me through please..

not really as you need to find an ignition live and i cant do that from a photo. Use a circuit tester to check the empty ports to find one that gets power when the ignition is on and that switches off when you turn the car off. Then take that feed.. make up the fuse holder and put that through the fuse and then into the other port where the radio fuse would normally go.
Golf GTI DSG "ED30 Tribute" - RTech: 254bhp / 323lbft | MK6 GTI DSG S.Wheel | MK6 GTI speedo | MK6 climate | RCD510DAB | Bluetooth | Milltek Cat back | H&R Springs & Rear ARB | WALK | 19" BBS CH | MK7R 340mm brakes - INFO


Offline SuhailVinnyBee

  • Can't Read PM's Yet!
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 3
    • Email
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #18 on: July 14, 2013, 10:52:32 PM »
my fuse box is the same as Saj121..coud you tell me which empty slot u used to connect? i dunno which one has an ignition live

thanks

fixonson

  • Guest
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #19 on: October 01, 2013, 09:24:44 PM »
Hello,

Can someone please help me with RCD 510 problem? How i should connect the cables to the fuse box? My fuse box on golf plus 2005, 1,9tdi is looking the same as jedi-knight83 posted on first picture, but not of all relays are att the same place as on his picture? On the place where jedi knight has an empy fuse slot on EOU i have one 10v fuse on the remaining two on the left is empty slots. Btw, how to insert a picture here?


 Help please?

Offline jedi-knight83

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 12
  • -Receive: 41
  • Posts: 1355
    • Cambridge Autogleam Detailing
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #20 on: October 01, 2013, 10:17:01 PM »
you just need to find an empty slot that has an ignition live feed and jump from there.
Golf GTI DSG "ED30 Tribute" - RTech: 254bhp / 323lbft | MK6 GTI DSG S.Wheel | MK6 GTI speedo | MK6 climate | RCD510DAB | Bluetooth | Milltek Cat back | H&R Springs & Rear ARB | WALK | 19" BBS CH | MK7R 340mm brakes - INFO


Offline WabsNL

  • Just Arrived
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 12
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #21 on: November 25, 2013, 03:36:00 PM »
I have the same fuse box as olly330 and I think i found the solution.

1 side of the cable in the left socket of the radio fuse (F8) and the other in the right socket of F14.
Not sure what F14 is used for but it was empty for me and 10 seconds after removing the key the power is gone.  :pomppomp:

/editJust wanted to confirm the above solution. Worked perfect for me this last week  :happy2:

« Last Edit: November 29, 2013, 05:57:26 PM by WabsNL »

Offline JaseGti

  • Always Involved
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 238
    • Remoteclothing
    • Email
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #22 on: August 17, 2014, 02:34:49 PM »
Can anyone help with this?
CW is the way forwards

Remoteclothing.com

Offline SL4VE

  • Can't Read PM's Yet!
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 7
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #23 on: July 16, 2015, 01:02:27 PM »
mine asks for the code everytime i turn it on.

is this normal? with this trick

aesmidz

  • Guest
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #24 on: August 24, 2015, 12:59:33 PM »

Sorry for the ancient thread bump - did anyone find out where to connect the power supply to a f8 radio fuse, as previously posted

i have a 2011 golf gtd, and the RNS510 is slowly draining the battery, so looking to have it supplied with power only when the ignition is live




This is the fuse box in my 2006 UK MKV Golf Tdi, viewed as you are directly in front of the car, facing in the direction of the windscreen.
You can see the stereo fuse which I have removed and one end of the jumper cable is inserted :





Can anyone advise, for my fuse box, which slot the other jumper cable should go into ?

You will be doing me a massive favour, cheers.
[/quote]

Offline aholla

  • Can't Read PM's Yet!
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #25 on: September 24, 2016, 03:47:04 PM »
Hi, I know this is old, but did anyone figure out if they could use a spare port? I have the same setup as the photo above and have tested the empty slots but I dont think any of them get any power at idle.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2016, 11:12:51 AM by aholla »

Offline Pudding

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 454
  • Posts: 5386
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #26 on: September 26, 2016, 11:27:13 AM »
How old is your RNS?  The newer ones can have a software hack to stop the power drain.

I've got a version Q in mine (with the software tweak) on the standard can gateway (2007) and I've left the car at Gatwick for 2 weeks, and it started right up!
Black Edition 30 with manually selected cogs, a beefier clutch, some extra boost and them Whiteline thingies, otherwise standard.

Offline willni

  • Won't Shut up.
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 31
  • -Receive: 30
  • Posts: 685
    • Email
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #27 on: January 31, 2017, 10:31:44 AM »
How old is your RNS?  The newer ones can have a software hack to stop the power drain.

I've got a version Q in mine (with the software tweak) on the standard can gateway (2007) and I've left the car at Gatwick for 2 weeks, and it started right up!

How can you tell what version you have and how do you get the software tweak? very interested and don't really want to go upgrading the canbus

Offline Pudding

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 454
  • Posts: 5386
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #28 on: January 31, 2017, 10:47:52 AM »
How old is your RNS?  The newer ones can have a software hack to stop the power drain.

I've got a version Q in mine (with the software tweak) on the standard can gateway (2007) and I've left the car at Gatwick for 2 weeks, and it started right up!

How can you tell what version you have and how do you get the software tweak? very interested and don't really want to go upgrading the canbus

On the sticker on the back of the unit, or with VCDS, or with the stereo in diagnostic mode (I think).

I had an ancient RNS510 version A which the previous owner fitted.  It failed on me so I bought a new one from some east European VAG radio specialist on ebay (can't remember the shop name) and he did some kind of software mod to it.  I wouldn't know how to apply the patch DIY I'm afraid, but it's probably a firmware updated of some sort.
Black Edition 30 with manually selected cogs, a beefier clutch, some extra boost and them Whiteline thingies, otherwise standard.

Offline Pudding

  • Just look at my post count
  • ******
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 454
  • Posts: 5386
Re: A tested and proven quick fix for rcd510/rns510 power drain
« Reply #29 on: January 31, 2017, 10:51:21 AM »
Just looked at my ebay purchase history and I bought it from sat_nav_deals

Might be worth contacting him, or eddieNL on here is a bit of an electrical whizz I believe.
Black Edition 30 with manually selected cogs, a beefier clutch, some extra boost and them Whiteline thingies, otherwise standard.